Search
Buy BooksSell Books
Filter Results by
Binding
Subject
Students attending CSBE Partner Schools: click here for preferred pricing on your school’s custom bookstore. Hide
Teachers & School Administrators: click here for wholesale pricing and book room management tools. Hide
Ships to Canada and
the United States
Stranger Than We Can Imagine: An Alternative History Of The 20TH Century

cat #: 919811
ISBN 10: 0-7710-3847-X
ISBN 13: 978-0-7710-3847-1
Hardcover
Good: $6.77 Buy
Sell Mine Make us an offer
Book Summary
The extraordinary story of the 20th century, as told from the furthest fringes of science, art and culture. For readers of Bryson's A Short History of Nearly Everything.

     Before 1900, history was an account of great discoveries that actually made sense. People understand innovations like the steam engine, agriculture, or electricity. The twentieth century, by contrast, gave us quantum entanglement, cubism, relativity, psychedelics, postmodernism, chaos maths, and the Somme.
     This is the story of that confusing century as told through the ideas produced at the furthest fringes of our sciences, arts, and culture. Its cast includes well-known geniuses such as Albert Einstein, Francis Crick, and Pablo Picasso, lesser known geniuses like Edward Lorenz, Sergey Korolyov, or Shigeru Miyamoto, and infamous but influential ne'er-do-wells like Timothy Leary, Aleister Crowley and Keith Richards. In this company we take a tour through ideas as strange as general relativity, DNA, the subconscious, Gaia theory, and Dada.
     In this brilliantly written and original book, John Higgs explores, with great clarity and wit, the extremes of twentieth century thought, and in doing so shows how a world of empires became a world of individuals. You will never see the twentieth century in the same way again.

CSBE Partner Schools
School / District Pricing

Terms & Conditions
Shipping
Used Books
Returns Policy

Legal
Privacy Policy
Tel: 800-335-5043 (toll free)
905-828-7200 (local)
Email: inetsales@csbe.net
Address: View Map
3300 Ridgeway Drive, Unit 5
Mississauga, Ontario
L5L 5Z9

© 2000-2017 Canadian School Book Exchange All rights reserved.