Search
Buy BooksSell Books
Filter Results by
Binding
Subject
Students attending CSBE Partner Schools: click here for preferred pricing on your school’s custom bookstore. Hide
Teachers & School Administrators: click here for wholesale pricing and book room management tools. Hide
Ships to Canada and
the United States
Beast

cat #: 307749
ISBN 10: 1-101-93716-5
ISBN 13: 978-1-101-93716-7
Year: 2016
Penguin Random House Canada
Hardcover
New: $23.99 Buy
Good: $16.79 Buy
Sell Mine Make us an offer
Book Summary
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
A Rainbow Book List selection
A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection

A witty, wise, and heart-wrenching reimagining of Beauty and the Beast that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan.

 
Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn’t look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg—and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers. 
 
Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy—until he meets Jamie. She’s funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She’s also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality.
 
As Jamie’s humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn’t know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn’t listening. Something that shouldn’t change a thing. She is who she’s always been—an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way?

Praise for Beast:
"Writing smartly in Dylan’s voice, Spangler artfully represents both main characters: the boy who feels like a freak and the witty, imperfect, wise trans girl he loves. Very lightly borrowing on the classic fairy tale, she allows them to fail and succeed without resorting to paper villains or violent plot points to manipulate compassion. A believable and beautiful human story.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred review

"Spangler’s captivating portrayals of Dylan and Jamie offer piercing insight into the long, painful battle to shatter stereotypes in order to win dignity, love, and acceptance.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred review

CSBE Partner Schools
School / District Pricing

Terms & Conditions
Shipping
Used Books
Returns Policy

Legal
Privacy Policy
Tel: 800-335-5043 (toll free)
905-828-7200 (local)
Email: inetsales@csbe.net
Address: View Map
3300 Ridgeway Drive, Unit 5
Mississauga, Ontario
L5L 5Z9

© 2000-2018 Canadian School Book Exchange All rights reserved.