Search
Buy BooksSell Books
Filter Results by
Binding
Subject
Ships to Canada and
the United States
Crazy Man, The

cat #: 257800
ISBN 10: 0-88899-695-0
ISBN 13: 978-0-88899-695-4
Year: 2005
University of Toronto Press
Paperback
Fine: $8.46 Buy
Good: $6.96 Buy
Usable: $4.97 Buy
Sell Mine Make us an offer
Book Summary

It is 1965, and twelve-year-old Emaline lives on a wheat farm in southern Saskatchewan. Her family has fallen apart. When her beloved dog, Prince, chased a hare into the path of the tractor, she chased after him, and her dad accidentally ran over her leg with the discer, leaving her with a long convalescence and a permanent disability. But perhaps the worst thing from Emaline's point of view is that in his grief and guilt, her father shot Prince and then left Emaline and her mother on their own.

Despite the neighbors' disapproval, Emaline's mother hires Angus, a patient from the local mental hospital, to work their fields. Angus is a red-haired giant whom the local kids tease and call the gorilla. Though the small town's prejudice creates a cloud of suspicion around Angus that nearly results in tragedy, in the end he becomes a force for healing as Emaline comes to terms with her injury and the loss of her father.

In the tradition of novels such as Kevin Major's Ann and Seamus and Karen Hesse's Out of the Dust, novelist and poet Pamela Porter uses free verse to tell this moving, gritty story that is accessible to a wide range of ages and reading abilities.



Terms & Conditions
Shipping
Used Books
Returns Policy

Legal
Privacy Policy
Email: info@bookpower.com
Address: 5-3300 Ridgeway Drive
Mississauga, Ontario
L5L 5Z9

© 2018 Bookpower.com All rights reserved.